MASAI CHECKS IN A DANISH LIGHT

As checks are the favourite motifs of Jan Machenhauer, who has been significantly affected by the beauty of the Masai hunters, an inspiration frequently cited by Karen Blixen, the co-founder of Epice has chosen to revisit the traditional red and blue check patterns of the Masai tribe, using Epice colours.
The check pattern is a universal motif, found throughout the world and in every age, dating back to the most ancient times: archaeological excavations have revealed check patterns dating back to 2,000 BC.

For the designers at Epice, who are enthusiastic travellers but remain firmly rooted in Scandinavia, check patterns provide the opportunity to apply a sense of Danish discipline to their creative pursuits, in combination with global colours.

 

SCANDINAVIAN DESIGN

 

“Checks provide the opportunity to work in the space between structures and colours. The grid pattern forms the basis for a kind of sculpting process, allowing the creation of distortion”.“ The challenge and pleasure of construction is in perfect harmony with the Scandinavian mindset.

The geometric lines of check patterns are perfectly adapted to the language of weaving, and the associated intersection of gridlines. However, this apparent simplicity, which is in keeping with the traditions of Danish design, can achieve genuine creative complexity.

 

AFRICA

 

While check patterns also feature on certain fabrics from Danish folklore, it is the Masai tribes from the world of Karen Blixen who have inspired the designers at Epice to create this season’s check-patterned shawls.

CARREAUX MASSAIS, LUMIERE DANOISE

Parce-que les carreaux sont les motifs préférés de Jan Machenhauer, et parce-que la beauté des chasseurs Massaï, souvent citée par Karen Blixen, le touche sensiblement, le co-fondateur d’Épice a revisité les traditionnels carreaux rouges et bleus des tribus Massaï aux couleurs d’Epice.

Les carreaux sont un motif universel, on les trouve dans le monde entier, à toutes les époques, même les plus anciennes : des fouilles archéologiques ont permis d’en découvrir datant de 2000 avant JC.

Pour les designers d’Epice passionnés de voyage mais bien ancrés en Scandinavie les carreaux sont aussi l’occasion d’appliquer à leur recherche créative le sens de la rigueur danoise allié aux couleurs du monde.

 

LE DESIGN SCANDINAVE

 

Les carreaux permettent de travailler l’espace entre les structures et les couleurs. Il s’agit presque de sculpter à partir de la trame et de créer des déformations.“ Challenge et plaisir de la construction en parfaite adéquation avec l’esprit scandinave.

Les lignes géométriques des carreaux s’adaptent parfaitement au langage du tissage, à ses croisements de trames. Mais cette apparente simplicité, conforme à la tradition du design danois, peut atteindre une réelle complexité créative.

 

L’AFRIQUE

 

Et si on trouve aussi des carreaux sur certaines étoffes du folklore danois, c’est bien en pensant aux Massais évoqués dans l’univers de Karen Blixen que les designers d’Epice ont conçus les carreaux des étoles de cette saison.