TRIBUTE TO KAREN BLIXEN

It is no coincidence that Epice designers Bess Nielsen and Jan Machenhauer have chosen to pay tribute to the Danish author Karen Blixen, whose famous book Out of Africa describes her years in the Masai territory. A woman of strong and independent character, her life was a by-word for boldness, elegance and the avant-garde.
For the summer of 2015, Epice has produced a collection inspired by the lifestyle of this writer, who is virtually considered as a “national treasure” in Denmark.

FLOWERS

 

Karen Blixen had an unconditional love for flowers and the art of original composition. She combined elegant flowers with wild grasses, showing a flair which was highly daring for the times. It is still possible to admire her bouquets of fresh flowers in the museum which is dedicated to her name, at Rungted Kyst in Denmark.

 

LACES

 

Karen Blixen’s house, now converted into a museum, is also a source of inspiration. Take her long lace curtains, tumbling down to the floor like a ripple in a river…

 

AFRICA

 

Danish designers have also drawn upon the African years of Karen Blixen. In addition to the check patterns of the Masai, these leading colourists, steeped in the light of the Nordic territories, have adopted the house colours of Epice – earth, ochre, sand, black, or sky blue – to arrive at more physical interpretations of the savannah.

HOMMAGE A KAREN BLIXEN

Ce n’est pas un hasard si les designers d’Epice Bess Nielsen et Jan Machenhauer ont choisi de rendre hommage à l’écrivain danois Karen Blixen, dont le célèbre livre la Ferme Africaine retrace ses années en territoire Massaï. Femme au tempérament fort et indépendant, sa vie fut synonyme d’audace, d’élégance et d’avant-gardisme.

Epice livre une collection été 2015 inspirée du mode de vie de cet écrivain considéré quasiment “trésor national“ au Danemark.

LES FLEURS

 

Karen Blixen avait un amour inconditionnel des fleurs et de l’art des compositions originales. Elle mélangeait des fleurs raffinées à des herbes folles dans un élan très avant-gardiste pour l’époque. On peut encore admirer ses bouquets de fleurs fraîches au musée qui lui est dédié à Rungted Kyst au Danemark.

 

LES DENTELLES

 

La maison de Karen Blixen transformée en musée est également une source d’inspiration. Tels ses longs rideaux en dentelle terminant leur chute sur le sol à la manière du sillon d’un fleuve…

 

L’AFRIQUE

 

Les designers danois se sont aussi penché sur les années africaines de Karen Blixen. Outre les carreaux des Massaïs, ces grands coloristes baignés des lumières nordiques ont déclinés les couleurs d’Epice —terre, ocre, sable, noir, ou encore bleu ciel…pour des interprétations plus concrètes de la savane.